St John's (Antigua and Barbuda): West Indies have announced both T20I and ODI squads for their next month’s tour to India. All-rounders Andre Russell and Dwayne Bravo have not been included.

India and West Indies will play three T20Is and three ODIs starting with the shortest format on December 6 in Hyderabad. Kieron Pollard (pictured) is the captain of both teams.

Also read: Shikhar Dhawan ruled out of West Indies T20Is

“We have three matches in each format, so we wanted to give each squad a chance to compete against India. No disrespect to Afghanistan, but facing India will be a more difficult series, especially in the ODI. Our players really the hang of thing with the 3-0 series win and I believe we will move from strength to strength,” West Indies coach Phil Simmons said.

“In the T20s this will be another chance for them to play and development, and again no disrespect to Afghanistan, this should be a stronger T20 country and we will look to see how they perform against India,” he added.

Opening batsman Chris Gayle too won’t feature in the series as the left-hander has taken a break from cricket.

“The next World Cup is in Australia (2020) and the one after that is here in India (2021) so there is a lot of preparation to be done for first for Australia, so we have given the players here a chance in this series and we know we have players outside who may be coming in later on as well, so it's good to give those here another opportunity,” Simmons said.

West Indies squads

T20I: Kieron Pollard (captain), Fabian Allen, Sheldon Cottrell, Shimron Hetmyer, Jason Holder, Brandon King, Evin Lewis, Keemo Paul, Khary Pierre, Nicholas Pooran, Denesh Ramdin, Sherfane Rutherford, Lendl Simmons, Hayden Walsh Jr, Kesrick Williams.

ODI: Kieron Pollard (captain), Sunil Ambris, Roston Chase, Sheldon Cottrell, Shimron Hetmyer, Jason Holder, Shai Hope, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Evin Lewis, Keemo Paul, Khary Pierre, Nicholas Pooran, Romario Shepherd, Hayden Walsh Jr.