Asianet NewsableAsianet Newsable

Pataudi Trophy 2021, 2nd Test: Did England try to tamper with the ball on Day 4?

India and England are currently playing it out in the second Test for the Pataud Trophy at Lord's. However, on Friday, the host was in the news for the wrong reason, as it supposedly tried to tamper with the ball.

Pataudi Trophy 2021, 2nd Test: Did England try to tamper with the ball on Day 4?-ayh
Author
London, First Published Aug 15, 2021, 10:28 PM IST
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Whatsapp

The ongoing second Test between India and England for the Pataudi Trophy is getting intense. However, on Sunday (Day 4), there was a mild controversy surrounding the host.

At a point, one of the English players was seen putting his spikes on the ball. While millions across the globe viewed it, it soon generated controversy, as fans and experts took it to social media to refer to it as a possible ball-tampering.

A couple of former Indian cricketers, Aakash Chopra and Virender Sehwag took to Twitter to express their views. While Chopra wrote, "Ball-tampering, eh?", Sehwag addressed, "Yeh kya ho raha hai (What is this). Is it ball-tampering by Eng ya (or) covid preventive measures".

Aakash Chopra

Virender Sehwag

Meanwhile, a fan took up the issue to English pacer Stuart Broad on Twitter, as the latter replied by typing, "My comments are- Woody tried to nutmeg Burnsy by tapping the ball through his legs (a very common occurrence) & he missed and kicked the ball there by accident. Instead of screenshotting the pic, watch the video, quite plain & easy to see".

The Indian side has neither complained to the umpires or the referee nor has it filed an official complaint. Still, it remains to be seen if it does at the end of Day 4's play.

NOTE: Asianet News humbly requests everyone to wear masks, sanitise, maintain social distancing and get vaccinated as soon as eligible. Together we can and will break the chain #ANCares #IndiaFightsCorona

Follow Us:
Download App:
  • android
  • ios