Asianet News English

New Zealand ODI squad announced for India series

New Zealand will be without three key bowlers as they announced their ODI squad for the three-match series against India

New Zealand ODI squad announced for India series
Hamilton, First Published Jan 30, 2020, 2:36 PM IST
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Whatsapp

Hamilton: New Zealand have named their squad for the ODI series against India. Trent Boult, Lockie Ferguson and Matt Henry have not been included due to injuries while uncapped Kyle Jamieson has got a call-up.

India and New Zealand are currently involved in a five-T20I rubber the Virat Kohli-led side leading 3-0. After the T20Is, both teams will play three ODIs and two Tests. The first ODI is in Hamilton on February 5.

Also read: India win second T20I

The hosts’ pace attack will have a new look following the injuries to Boult (broken hand), Ferguson (calf strain) and Henry (broken thumb). Boult could be fit in time to play the longer version of the game.

“It’s always a tremendous occasion taking on India and we've seen from the T20 series they're clearly as strong as ever. Tim Southee has an important job leading our new-look pace attack, which has a huge opportunity against some of the very best batsmen in the world,” New Zealand coach Gary Stead said.

“It’s great to have Tom fit so we can call on his experience behind the stumps and in the middle order,” he added.

New Zealand ODI squad

Kane Williamson (captain), Hamish Bennett, Tom Blundell, Colin de Grandhomme, Martin Guptill, Kyle Jamieson, Scott Kuggeleijn, Tom Latham (wicketkeeper), Jimmy Neesham, Henry Nicholls, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi (for 1st ODI), Tim Southee, Ross Taylor.

India tour of New Zealand schedule

T20Is (All matches start at 12.30 PM IST)

1st T20I (January 24) - Auckland - India won by six wickets

2nd T20I (January 26) - Auckland - India won by seven wickets

3rd T20I (January 29) - Hamilton - Match tied. India won in Super Over

4th T20I (January 31) - Wellington

5th T20I (February 2) - Mount Maunganui

ODIs (All matches start at 7.30 AM IST)

1st ODI (February 5) - Hamilton

2nd ODI (February 8) - Auckland

3rd ODI (February 11) - Mount Maunganui

Tests (All matches start at 4 AM IST)

1st Test (February 21-25) - Wellington

2nd Test (February 29-March 4) - Christchurch

Follow Us:
Download App:
  • android
  • ios