Andhra Pradesh Government on Tuesday announced its NTR National Awards to Kamal Haasan in 2014 and Rajinikanth in 2016 for their contribution to the Indian cinema. The award is given in commemoration of the film and political legend Nandamuri Taraka Ramarao for his glorious era in the South.

Kamal Haasan started his film career in his fifth year while Rajinikanth struggled to become an actor in his 25th year. Kamal was inspired by Sivaji Ganesam and Rajini followed MGR (Maruthur Gopalan Ramachandran) style. Both were tutored under the master actor K Balachander.

Kamal and Rajini earned their fame with Apoorva Raagangal in 1975 after which they did a few successful films together. Both are equally loved by the Tamil and Telugu people alike.

Kamal received many awards with Padmasri, Padmabhushan and Padma Vibhushan Nationally and Chevalier Sivaji Ganesan prestigious award. Rajini was felicitated with Padmbhushan and Padma Vibhushan from the National Government.