Tamil Nadu's ruling party AIADMK has issued its first list of candidates for the upcoming state assembly election. The first list includes the names of six candidates, including CM Edappadi K Palaniswami and Deputy CM O Panneerselvam.

Tamil Nadu Chief Minister K Palaniswami to contest from Edappadi constituency in his home district of Salem and O Panneerselvam from Bodinayakanur in Theni district, his native place.

Senior leaders D Jayakumar (Fisheries Minister) and CV Shanmugam (Law Minister) have been fielded from Royapuram and Villupuram in northern Tamil Nadu respectively.

MLAs, SP Shanmuganathan and S Thenmozhi would face the polls from Srivaigundam and Nilakottai (Reserved) segments.

The 234-member Tamil Nadu Assembly will have single-phase polling on April 6. The votes will be counted on May 2.