New Delhi: The Bharatiya Janta Party (BJP) released its list of star campaigners for the upcoming Assam Assembly election 2021.

The BJP’s star campaigner list for Assam includes Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Union Home Minister Amit Shah, BJP national president JP Nadda and several other union ministers.

Other party leaders and state heads like Uttar Pradesh chief minister Yogi Adityanath, Madhya Pradesh chief minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan and Manipur chief minister N Biren Singh have also been named star campaigners by the party.

Other campaigners include BJP general secretary B L Santosh, Assam Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal and minister Himanta Biswa Sarma.

Bhojpuri actors Manoj Tiwari and Ravi Kisan will also have the responsibility to campaign for party candidates.

Here’s the complete list:

Polling for the 126-member Assam assembly will be held on March 27, April 1 and April 6. The counting of votes will take place on May 2.

In 2016, the BJP scripted history and formed the government for the first time in the state ending Congress's 15-year rule. BJP and its allies Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) and Bodoland People's Front (BPF) won a combined 86 seats in the 126-member Assam Assembly. BJP bagged 60 seats, AGP 14 and BPF 12 seats.This time the BPF has joined the Congress-led coalition 'Mahajath' after breaking away from the BJP-led alliance.