Bengaluru: In a major reshuffle after expanding his cabinet, Karnataka Chief Minister BS Yediyurappa today allocated portfolios to the seven new inductees. Portfolios of several ministers were either divested or changed in the BJP state government.

The new ministers inducted were MLAs Umesh Katti (Hukkeri), S Angara (Sullia), Murugesh Nirani (Bilgi) and Arvind Limbavali (Mahadevapura), and MLCs R Shankar, N Nagaraj (MTR) and CP Yogeshwar.

Here are the portfolios allotted to the ministers:

MTB Nagaraj: Excise Department

Umesh Katti - Food and Civil Supplies Department

Murugesh Nirani - Mines and Geology minister

R Shankar: Municipal Administration Department, Sericulture Department

Aravind Limbavali: Forest Department

S Angara: Fisheries Department Ports and Inland Transport Department

CP Yogeshwara: - Minor Irrigation Department from Water Resources Department

In a significant reshuffle, JC Madhuswamy has been divested of Law, Parliamentary Affairs, Legislation and Minor Irrigation portfolios and allocated Medical Education, Kannada and Culture departments.

Madhuswamy was the key minister who used to put up a strong defence of the government in the Assembly.

Law, Parliamentary Affairs and Legislation department has been given to Home Minister Basavaraj Bommai as an additional portfolio.

The Forest Department has been taken back from Anand Singh, who has now been given the Tourism portfolio in addition to Environment and Ecology; while the responsibility of the Medical Education Department has been taken back from Health and Family Welfare Minister K Sudhakar.

Meanwhile, Chief Minister BS Yediyurappa holds the Department of Personnel and Administrative Reforms (DPAR), Cabinet Affairs, Finance Department, Bangalore Department, Energy Department, Intelligence from Home Department, Planning, Programme Monitoring and Statistics Department, Infrastructure Department and all unallocated portfolios.