The counting of votes for municipal elections in Haryana is currently underway, following which the results will be declared. The ruling BJP-Jannayak Janta Party (JJP) and the Congress are locked in a straight contest.

The polls were held to elect the mayors and members of all the wards of Ambala, Panchkula and Sonipat municipal corporations, the president and members of the Municipal Council of Rewari and the municipal committees of Sampla (Rohtak), Dharuhera (Rewari) and Ukalana (Hisar).

A voting percentage of nearly 60 was recorded as polling remained peaceful in the elections to municipal bodies in Haryana on Sunday, which were held amid tight security and adherence to the norms in place in view of the coronavirus pandemic, PTI reported. The polling started at 8 am and continued till 5:30 pm.

The BJP has won mayoral post in Panchkula. Here, BJP candidate Kulbhushan Goyal defeated Congress leader Upinder Kaur Ahluwalia.

Congress wins Sonipat mayoral poll. Nikhil Madaan of Congress will be the first mayor of Sonipat.

Meanwhile in Ambala, Shakti Rani Sharma defeated BJP's Vandana Sharma.

BJP's Poonam Yadav wins Rewari MC polls. Former Congress leader and Union minister Venod Sharma's wife wins from Ambala. Official announcements yet to be made

Dushyant Chautala from JJP loses. Independent candidate wins from Dharuhera MC.