Asianet Newsable

Govt rejigs Cabinet committees ahead of monsoon session; Smriti Irani, Sonowal part of political affairs

Minister for Women and Child Development, Smriti Irani, Environment and Labour Minister Bhupender Yadav and Ports Minister Sarbananda Sonowal are now in the Cabinet Committee on Political Affairs, which is headed by PM Narendra Modi.

Govt rejigs Cabinet committees ahead of monsoon session; Smriti Irani, Sonowal part of political affairs-dnm
New Delhi, First Published Jul 13, 2021, 11:37 AM IST
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Whatsapp

The government has reconstituted the powerful Cabinet committees under which Union ministers Smriti Irani, Bhupender Yadav and Sarbananda Sonowal have been made part of the all-important Cabinet Committee on Political Affairs headed by Prime Minister Narendra Modi. This development comes a week after the Union Cabinet reshuffle.

Union ministers Virendra Kumar, Kiren Rijiju and Anurag Thakur are the new members of the Cabinet Committee on Parliamentary Affairs, which is headed by Defence Minister Rajnath Singh.

Cabinet Ministers such as Home Minister Amit Shah, Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman, and other members of the Cabinet like Narendra Singh Tomar, Virendra Kumar, Anurag Singh Thakur, Arjun Munda, Pralhad Joshi and Kiren Rijiju have been co-opted to the panel.

Ministers Narayan Rane, Jyotiraditya Scindia and Ashwini Vaishnaw are now in the Cabinet Committee on Investment and Growth.

The Cabinet Committee on Security will also be chaired by PM Narendra Modi. Apart from him, the Defence Minister, the Home Minister, the Finance Minister and the External Affairs Minister are members of it.

The two-member Appointments Committee of the Cabinet comprises the Prime Minister and the Home Minister.

The Cabinet Committee on Accommodation includes Union Ministers Amit Shah, Nitin Gadkari, Nirmala Sitharaman, Piyush Goyal, and Hardeep Singh Puri.

The Cabinet Committee on Employment and Skill Development, headed by the PM, has new members in Union ministers Ashwini Vaishnaw, Bhupender Yadav, Ramchandra Prasad Singh and G. Kishan Reddy.

NOTE: Asianet News humbly requests everyone to wear masks, sanitize, maintain social distancing and get vaccinated as soon as eligible. Together we can and will break the chain #ANCares #IndiaFightsCorona 

Follow Us:
Download App:
  • android
  • ios