AIADMK's Chief Secretary Girija Vaidyanathan welcomed the gathering at the MGR Centenary celebrations held at Madurai on Friday, June 30, 2017. The function was then inaugurated under the leadership of Chief Minister E Palaniswami.

At the celebrations, Loksabha’s Deputy Speaker and AIADMK leader M Thambidurai said, “It was Jayalalitha’s earnest wish to celebrate the MGR centenary grandly. It has been made possible by this government. In that case, the credit should be given to Jayalalitha for forming this regime by her extraordinary efforts.  This government is only implementing her wish.”

He further added, “On June 30, 1977, MGR became the Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu. It is a great pride for Madurai to have celebrated his centenary after forty years on the same date. Now we don’t have either MGR or Jayalalitha with us. That is the reason why we are facing some critical situations. We should overcome those struggles. We should stand united to save Tamil Nadu, Tamil and the rights of Tamilians. We should be determined to save our party irrespective of the struggles we face.”

Minister Sellur Raju who was also present at the celebrations said, “The base for Dravidian Party was set by MGR. In his very first election, he made Karunanidhi face a devastating defeat.”

He further said, “Right when many tried to destroy this party, some MLAs stood together no matter how critical the situation was. I thank them. Palaniswami is following the ways of Jayalalitha. Some traitors are trying to stab us in the back. We should not allow them to destroy us. We should always stand united.”

Minister R.B. Udhayakumar said, “I was worried thinking if we could fulfil Jayalalitha’s wish but Palaniswami has made it happen with his efforts. Jayalalitha is the reason why brotherhood prevails in AIADMK. No matter how many traps and intrigues show up, our CM will always focus on his regime in the upcoming years. He follows the ways of Jayalalitha.”

Speaker Dhanapal, MLA Rajan Chellappa, ministers such as Rajenthra Bhalaji and Sreenivasan and many other MLAS participated in the event. The Madurai district collector Veeraraghava Rao gave the vote of thanks.