Olympic medallists PV Sindhu and Sakshi Malik, and gymnast Dipa Karmakar are to be felicitated with the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award 2016 today. Jitu Rai, the ace shooter will also be conferred with the highest sporting award.


Sindhu became the first Indian shuttler to win an Olympic sliver in the recently concluded Rio Games. Sakshi won the bronze medal in women's 58 kg freestyle category at the Rio Games. Dipa missed a bronze by a whisker in the same arena. Jitu Rai consistently performed very well in past two years winning medals across the globe. 


Bishweshwar Nandi, the coach of Produnova queen Karmakar, will be awarded the Dronacharya Award.  Nagapuri Ramesh (athletics), Sagar Mal Dhayal (boxing), Raj Kumar Sharma (cricket), S. Pradeep Kumar (swimming) and Mahabir Singh (wrestling) will also be felicitated with the same award.


In addition to that 15 sportspersons would be felicitated with the Arjuna Award and three with being honoured with the Dhyan Chand Award.


The sports personalities would be felicitated by President Pranab Mukherjee.


Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna awardee will receive a medal, a citation and a cash prize of ₹.7.5 lakh.  Each Arjuna and Dronacharya Awardees will receive statuettes, certificates and cash of ₹5