The seventh edition of the Karnataka Premier League (KPL) Twenty20 tournament is all set to commence on Independence Day, August 15.

To be played among the same seven franchises as in Season 6, the tournament will be played in the memory of the late Srikantadatta Narasimharaja Wadiyar, the former president of the Karnataka State Cricket Association (KSCA).

The late scion of the Mysore royal family, along with Brijesh Patel, conceptualised and implemented the franchise-based Twenty20 league in 2009.

The matches will be played in Bengaluru’s iconic M Chinnaswamy Stadium, the KSCA Rajnagar Stadium in Hubballi and the SDNR Wadiyar Cricket Stadium in Mysuru.

Last year, Belagavi Panthers (pictured above) won the title defeating Bijapur Bulls by six wickets in the final in Hubballi.

The teams, who are spoilt for choice as far as talent in Karnataka is concerned, can retain a maximum of four players each for the ensuing season. They are also likely to be able to choose a limited number of players from outside the State.

KSCA is keen to have a pool of outstation players and awaiting the BCCI’s nod for the same.

In another significant development, the activities of the Anti-Corruption Unit (ACU) are being outsourced to a fully accredited agency. The KSCA is firm in its belief that the KPL has to set the standards not just in terms of cricketing skills but also proper conduct on and off the field.

The Teams for KPL 2018:

Bijapur Bulls

Belagavi Panthers

Bellary Tuskers

Hubli Tigers

Mysuru Warriors

Namma Shivamogga

Kalyani Blasters Bengaluru

Previous Champions

2008: Provident Bangalore Rural

2009: Mangalore United

2014: Mysuru Warriors

2015: Bijapur Bulls

2016: Bellary Tuskers

2017: Belagavi Panthers

(The tournament was not held from 2010 to 2013)