Bengaluru: Defending champions Chennai Super Kings (CSK) will face Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) in the opening game of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2019 on March 23 in Chennai.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), on Tuesday (February 19), released the schedule for the opening two weeks.


"These are still subject to the announcement of the Lok Sabha 2019 election dates. Once these have been released BCCI will address any issues with the first two weeks and will also prepare a schedule for the remainder of the season working with the local authorities around the polling dates," an announcement on IPL’s website said on Tuesday.

A total of 17 matches will be played during the first two weeks period across the eight home venues of the respective franchises.

All teams will play minimum of four matches with Delhi Capitals and RCB playing five matches. Every team will play minimum of two home and two away matches with Delhi playing three home matches, while RCB will play three away matches.

The organisers have not yet announced the exact start times of the matches. They are mentioned only as "afternoon" and "evening" matches.

RCB's matches (March 23 to April 5)

March 23 (Afternoon) - Vs Chennai Super Kings (CSK) in Chennai

March 28 (Evening) - Vs Mumbai Indians (MI) in Bengaluru

March 31 (Afternoon) - Vs Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) in Hyderabad

April 2 (Evening) - Vs Rajasthan Royals (RR) in Jaipur

April 5 (Evening) - Vs Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) in Bengaluru