This is the first time a Girls U-18 team would be competing in an international rugby event, a media release said on Monday.


The team is supported by Societe Generale, the financial partner of Rugby India, and would be participating under the aegis of the Indian Rugby Football Union (IRFU), the governing body for the sport in the country.


A total of six countries from across Asia - comprising Hong Kong, Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, Sri Lanka, India and hosts UAE - would participate in the event, the release added.


Speaking about the team, Mahesh Mathai, secretary general of Rugby India to PTI, "This is the first time an Indian girls under-18 team is participating in an Asian rugby event. It is encouraging to see rugby growing at a rapid rate in India, particularly amongst the women."


The squad: Sumitra Nayak (captain, Odisha), Ruchi Shetty (vice-captain, Maharashtra), Basanti Pangi, Manjulata Pradhan (both Odisha), Krutuja Manglurkar (Maharashtra), Sweta Shahi (Bihar), Kshitija Manglurkar, Gargee Walekar (both Maharashtra), Rajani Sabar, Lija Sardar (both Odisha), Priyanka Bais, Shraddha Lawand (both Maharashtra).