Asianet NewsableAsianet Newsable

Full list of Laureus award winners; Sachin Tendulkar does India proud

Who all won at the Laureus World Sports Awards 2020? Here is the full list of award winners that also includes Indian batting legend Sachin Tendulkar. The awards were presented in Berlin

Full list of Laureus award winners Sachin Tendulkar does India proud
Berlin, First Published Feb 18, 2020, 10:38 AM IST
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Whatsapp

Berlin: Sachin Tendulkar was the lone Indian who bagged an award at the Laureus World Sports Awards 2020 ceremony in Berlin on Monday night (February 17). Tendulkar won the best sporting moment for 2000-2020.

Photos from Laureus awards ceremony

The iconic image of Tendulkar being carried on the shoulders of his teammates after India won the 2011 World Cup was voted the best sporting moment in last 20 years.

Also read: Sachin Tendulkar honoured in Berlin

In 2011, India defeated Sri Lanka in the final to lift the World Cup for the second time. Tendulkar won the coveted title in his sixth and final attempt, on his home ground – Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai.

Formula One driver Lewis Hamilton and footballer Lionel Messi were declared the joint winners of Laureus World Sportsman of the Year honour.

Also read: Full schedule of IPL 2020

Six-time Formula One world champion Hamilton and six-time FIFA World Player of the Year Messi were so close in terms of their achievements in 2019 that even the ultimate sporting jury, the Laureus World Sports Academy, could not split them, with the voting being tied for the very first time in the 20-year history of the Laureus Awards.

The Winners were revealed as the greatest room in sport gathered together to be part of the most important annual Awards Ceremony, this year celebrating the 20th anniversary of Laureus. The hugely popular event was hosted by actor Hugh Grant and the legends of sport past and present in the room were treated to entertainment from British singer-songwriter Liam Payne, former member of One Direction.

Full list of Laureus award winners

Laureus World Sportsman of the Year: Lewis Hamilton and Lionel Messi

Laureus World Sportswoman of the Year: Simone Biles

Laureus World Team of the Year: South Africa Men’s Rugby Team

Laureus World Breakthrough of the Year: Egan Bernal

Laureus World Comeback of the Year: Sophia Flörsch

Laureus World Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability: Oksana Masters

Laureus World Action Sportsperson of the Year: Chloe Kim

Laureus Best Sporting Moment: ‘Carried on the shoulders of a nation’ – Sachin Tendulkar

Laureus Lifetime Achievement Award: Dirk Nowitzki

Laureus Academy Exceptional Achievement Award: Spanish Basketball Federation

Laureus Sport for Good Award: South Bronx United

Follow Us:
Download App:
  • android
  • ios