Both Congress and BJP had made it a prestige issue and did a hectic campaigning.


The bypolls were necessitated in Gundlupet after the sitting MLA, and minister HS Mahadeva Prasad passed away, and in Nanjangud, veteran Congress leader V Srinivas Prasad defected to BJP.


Counting of votes will begin at 8 am, and the final result is expected to be out by 11 am. In Nanjangud, counting will be held at JSS College and at St John's School in Gundlupet.