New Delhi: The first day of the Roland-Garros Junior Wild Card Series got off to a promising start in Delhi at the RK Khanna Tennis Complex, DLTA on Monday (February 24), with top seed Dev V Javia (pictured above), third seed Chirag Duhan and unseeded duo of Nitin Jaipal Singh and Mohit A Bondree progressing to the semi-finals of the boys category.

In the girls section, top seed Reshma Maruri, second seed Akanksha Nitture and unseeded Sanjana Sirimalla and Vaishnavi Adkar triumphed over their opponents.
On the first match of the day, Dev justified his top billing as he comfortably won 6-1, 6-0 against fellow Gujarat player Rudra Pratap Bhatt. The second match of the opening day saw unseeded Nitin fight back against fourth seed Uddayvir Singh to win the match 2-6, 6-4, 6-4.

Third seed Chirag Duhan found a worthy opponent in Haryana boy Ajay Malik, but eventually registered a victory in straight sets 6-4, 6-3. In the final match of the boys category, unseeded Mohit A Bondree pulled off an upset as he defeated 2nd-seed Krishan Hooda 6-4, 7-5.

Reshma Maruri

The girls category witnessed its own share of upsets as unseeded Vaishnavi Adkar defeated third seed Sarah Dev convincingly in straight sets 6-3, 6-3. Fourth seed Sandeepti Singh Rao was also outplayed by unseeded Sanjana Sirimalla as the latter put on a clinical performance to win 6-2, 6-2.

However, top seed Reshma Maruri calmly fought off a late comeback by Nikita Vishwase to defeat her 6-2, 6-4 and proceed to the next stage. Similarly, second seed Akanksha Nitture cruised to a 6-3, 6-2 victory over Uttar Pradesh player Vanshika Choudhary.
The Roland-Garros Junior Wild Card Series will conclude on Wednesday when final matches of both categories will take place, with the winners bagging their tickets to Paris, in the presence of this year's Roland-Garros brand ambassador and iconic French tennis player Mary Pierce.

The two winning players will then participate in the Roland-Garros Junior qualifiers in Paris, with a chance to play in the Roland-Garros Junior Championships.


Dev V Javia (1) bt Rudra Pratap Bhatt 6-1, 6-0
Nitin Jaipal Singh bt Uddayvir Singh (4) 2-6, 6-4,6-4
Chirag Duhan (3) bt Ajay Malik 6-4, 6-3
Mohit A Bondree bt Krishan Hooda (2) 6-4, 7-5.
Reshma Maruri (1) bt Nikita Anand Vishwase 6-2, 6-4
Sanjana Sirimalla bt Sandeepti Singh Rao (4) 6-2, 6-2
Vaishnavi Adkar bt Sarah Dev (3) 6-3, 6-3
Akanksha Nitture (2) bt Vanshika Choudhary 6-3, 6-2

Order of Play (Tuesday, February 25)
Semi-final 1: Dev V Javia (1) vs Nitin Jaipal Singh

Semi-final 2: Chirag Duhan (3) vs Mohit A Bondree
Semi-final 1: Reshma Maruri (1) vs Sanjana Srimalla

Semi-final 2: Vaishnavi Adkar vs Akanksha Nitture (2)