Bengaluru’s Rajajinagar  is known to be a historical place. The place holds a blanket of temples, adding to the city’s beauty.

 This time in Rajajinagar it is tough fight between the BJP and Congress. This area being a strong hold of BJP, requires the Congress to prepare for a bout. The current legislator from BJP, S. Suresh Kumar is the candidate for the area. Former Mayor G. Padmavati who lost to Suresh Kumar in 2008, is the Congress Candidate, while JDS has fielded H.N. Krishnamurthy (Jedarahalli Krishnamurthy) as its candidate.

Rajajinagar has 7 wards, which include Dayanad Sagara, Prakash Nagara, Rajajinagara, Basaweshwaranagara, Kamakshipalya, Shivanagara, Sriramamandira, out of which four wards are BJP ruled, and the other 3 wards fall under the Congress party.

Suresh Kumar had won twice from Rajajinagar legislative constitution, in 1994 and 1998. In 2004 N.L. Narendra Babu of Congress won, which led to Suresh Kumar’s failure.

Suresh Kumar succeeded once again in 2008, when there was a reallocation of the constituency, after which he was re- elected in 2013. He is now eagerly waiting to continue his winning streak. In the last election Suresh Kumar had 39,291 votes in his kitty while R. Manjula Naidu from Congress got 24,524 and Shoba Karandlaje, who contested with KJP ticket stood third with 20,909 votes.

Suresh Kumar is on an attempt to capture the votes, which were distributed with KJP last time. BJP is worried about a streak of betrayal by a local BJP leader, who they suspect is helping the Congress behind the scenes.

However the Vokkaliga votes consisting of a higher count, Suresh Kumar is relying on the development in the constituency and the traditional voters. Congress’ Manjula Naidu who lost to Suresh Kumar, has now been replaced with the party’s former Mayor G. Padmavathi . After completing her responsibilities as the city’s Mayor, G. Padmavathi is now highlighting her achievements and the work done during her tenure, to gather votes. She is counting on the contacts she had with the people when she was the Mayor.

JDS has no takers in the constituency. In the last election JDS had S. Anand as its candidate. However, as he was not interested this time, JDS was thinking of fielding Karnataka Film Chamber of Commerce President, S.R. Govind. However, last minute change were made and H. N. Krishnamurthy scored the candidate vote instead.