Asianet NewsableAsianet Newsable

Karnataka Assembly: 14 more MLAs disqualified by Speaker Ramesh Kumar

Speaker Ramesh Kumar announced disqualification of 13 Congress, three JD(S) and one independent MLA from the Karnataka Assembly, bringing the total number of disqualified legislators to 17

Karnataka Assembly: 14 more MLAs disqualified by Speaker Ramesh Kumar
Bengaluru, First Published Jul 28, 2019, 12:43 PM IST

Bengaluru: Speaker Ramesh Kumar has announced disqualification of 17 MLAs from the Karnataka Assembly, today (July 28).

13 Congress, 3 JD(S) and one independent MLA will cease to be MLAs from today till expiry of the term of the current Assembly, the Speaker said.

The strength of the Karnataka Assembly has come down to 207 from 224.

The Congress MLAs disqualified are Ramesh Jarkiholi, Pratap Gowda Patil, BC Patil, Shivaram Hebbar, ST Somashekhar, Byrathi Basavaraj, Anand Singh, Roshan Baig, Munirathna, Sudhakar, MTB Nagaraj, Mahesh Kumathalli and Shrimant Patil.

Disqualified JD(S) MLAs are AH Vishwanath, Narayana Gowda and Gopalaiah.

Independent MLA disqualified is R Shankar

Among the rebels Ramalinga Reddy is the lone MLA who withdrew his resignation on July 19.

Karnataka MLAs, Ramesh Jarkiholi, Mahesh Kumathalli and R Shankar, who were disqualified on June 25 have decided to move Supreme Court tomorrow (July 29), challenging the Speaker's decision. 

Follow Us:
Download App:
  • android
  • ios