Bengaluru: Sensing trouble from the BJP in Bruhat Bengaluru Mahanagara Palike (BBMP), seven-time MLA Ramalinga Reddy directed mayor Gangambike to hold the elections to the chairmanship of 12 standing committees of the BBMP and ensured the aspiring candidates from the Congress-JD(S) coalition get elected without a challenge from the BJP.

As BJP MLAs including R Ashoka could possibly pose a threat to the BBMP standing election by pitching BJP corporators, mayor Gangambike, who is an ex-officio member and has the power to hold an election to the standing committee, conducted the elections under the direction of the BBMP officals.

With over 70 corporators, the Congress got six seats, the JD(S) four, and two independents were made standing committee chairpersons unopposed as the BJP walked out from council.

Here is the list of positions and chairpersons of BBMP

Tax and finance: Hemalatha Gopalaiah - JD(S)

Major works: Lavanya Ganesh Reddy - Congress

Appeal committee: Sujatha Ramesh - Congress

Social justice: Soumya Shivakumar - Congress

Accounts: Velu Nayakar - Congress

Health: Mujahid Pasha - Independent

Administration: Anand S - Independent

Horticulture: Aishwarya - JD(S)

Ward works: Umme Salma - JD(S)

Education: Imran Pasha - JD(S)

Market: Farida Isthiyak - Congress

Town Planning: SG Nagaraj - Congress