Asianet News English

New ministers Ramesh Jarkiholi and Byrathi Basavaraj hit jackpot, get plum portfolios

With BS Yediyurappa completing his promise to make ministers of migrants from Congress and JD(S) and allocate portfolios to them, 10 new ministers were allocated portfolios. Out of them, Ramesh Jarikiholi and Byrathi Basavaraj are considered lucky.

New ministers Ramesh Jarkiholi and Byrathi Basavaraj hit jackpot, get plum portfolios
Bengaluru, First Published Feb 10, 2020, 5:32 PM IST
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Whatsapp

Ten turncoats from Congress and JD(S) who were made ministers three days ago by BS Yediyurappa, got their respective portfolios in the Karnataka government. Out of these 10 new ministers, Ramesh Jarkiholi and Byrathi Basavaraj have bagged the coveted department.

Ramesh who was hell-bent on irrigation or water resources department that was once held by his detractor DK Shivakumar, managed to stamp his authority as he got what he wanted.

Byrathi Basavaraj, a key leader from Bengaluru responsible for placing the Congress-JD(S) rule in BBMP in 2015, was made the head of the Urban Development department.

Other leaders who rebelled and joined the BJP also made it into the Cabinet the other day and were given the respective departments to head.

Dr K Sudhakar from Chikkaballapura who kept demanding for the department involving infrastructure and development is now the medical education minister.

BC Patil who lashed out at Siddaramiah and Congress for neglecting him for 10 years is now a minister for forests.

Shivaram Hebbar, Yellapura MLA roped into the Cabinet under the Brahmin category will head the labour department. Maratha leader from Kagwad in North Karnataka, Srimanth Patil, was allocated the textiles department.

Bengaluru MLAs K Gopalaiah will lead the small industries department as well as the horticulture department while ST Somashekhar will head the cooperative department.

Vijaynagar MLA Anand Singh is food and civil supplies minister. KR Pete MLA Narayan Gowda who dented the JD(S) vote bank and ensured BJP's entry in JD(S) bastion Mandya is municipal administration minister.

Follow Us:
Download App:
  • android
  • ios