Asianet NewsableAsianet Newsable
breaking news image

Modi Govt 3.0: PM Modi unanimously elected as NDA leader, gears up for historic third term

Leaders of the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) unanimously elected Prime Minister Narendra Modi as the ruling bloc's leader on Wednesday.

NDA leaders unanimously elect PM Modi as alliance leader paving way for Modi Govt 3.0 snt
First Published Jun 5, 2024, 6:31 PM IST

The BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) on Wednesday unanimously passed a resolution electing Prime Minister Narendra Modi as the leader of the alliance, a day after the ruling coalition won a majority in the Lok Sabha Elections 2024. In their resolution, NDA underlined the alliance government's commitment to serving poor, women, youth, farmers and deprived sections of society.

The resolution was passed during a crucial meeting of senior NDA leaders at PM Modi's residence in New Delhi where discussions were held on forming the government. Chaired by PM Modi, the meeting included prominent leaders like TDP President N. Chandrababu Naidu, JD(U) leader and Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar, Shiv Sena leader and Maharashtra Chief Minister Eknath Shinde, and LJP (Ram Vilas) leader Chirag Paswan.

Also read: Lok Sabha Election 2024 results explained: How marginal drop in BJP vote share led to massive dent in tally


"Over the past 10 years, 1.4 billion Indians have witnessed the country develop in every sector under the leadership of the esteemed Prime Minister, Mr. Narendra Modi, through the welfare policies of the NDA government. After a long interval of nearly six decades, the people of India have chosen a strong leadership with an absolute majority for the third consecutive time," read the proposal letter passed by the leaders of the NDA in New Delhi.

"We all take pride in the fact that the 2024 Lok Sabha elections were fought and won by the NDA under the esteemed leadership of Mr. Narendra Modi. All of us NDA leaders unanimously choose the esteemed Mr. Narendra Modi as our leader," it added.

"Under Mr. Modi's leadership, the NDA government is committed to serving India's poor, women, youth, farmers, and the oppressed, deprived, and suffering citizens. By preserving India's heritage, the NDA government will continue to work towards comprehensive development and improving the standard of living for every citizen of India. This proposal was unanimously passed on June 5, 2024, in New Delhi," it concluded.

Also read: Lok Sabha Election 2024 results: Here's a look at full list of winners from all 543 seats

The TDP, JD(U), Shinde-led Shiv Sena, and the LJP (Ram Vilas) have won 16, 12, seven, and five seats respectively, playing a crucial role in government formation. Modi is set for a record-equalling third term, though the new government is expected to have a different composition with a greater share for BJP's allies.

While the NDA comfortably surpassed the majority mark of 272 in the 543-member Lok Sabha, the BJP, with 240 seats, fell short of the magic number for the first time since 2014 and was critically dependent on its allies.

The NDA is set to meet President Droupadi Murmu to stake claim to form the government under Modi's leadership. 

JD(U) MP Sanjay Kumar Jha stated, "The government under the leadership of Narendra Modi will soon be formed, and very soon a meeting of all the MPs will take place." Eknath Shinde expressed his support for Modi, stating, "Modiji has got a majority. The NDA will form the government under Modiji's leadership."

While the exact date for the oath-taking ceremony is yet to be confirmed, despite reports stating that it could take place on June 8, discussions are ongoing regarding the allocation of key portfolios to alliance members.

Latest Videos
Follow Us:
Download App:
  • android
  • ios