New Delhi: Young leaders from the NDA camp on Wednesday slammed the Opposition for “misleading people” and targeted the protests against the new citizenship law.

Karnataka BJP MP Tejasvi Surya on Wednesday invoked the reference of Shaheen Bagh protest over Citizenship Amendment Act (CAA) in the Parliament while asserting that the days of 'Mughal Raj' is not far away for Delhi if 'patriotic Indians don't stand up'.

He was participating in a debate on Motion of Thanks on the President's address in Lok Sabha. Referring to the protest at Shaheen Bagh against the CAA, the MP representing Bengaluru South constituency, said, "What is happening today in Delhi's Shaheen Bagh is a stark reminder that if the majority of this country is not vigilant, the patriotic Indians do not stand up to this, the days of Mughal Raj coming back to Delhi are not far away."

Also read:  Mumbai witnesses Shaheen Bagh-like protest by women against CAA

His remarks evoked sharp reaction from the opposition members. Surya praised Prime Minister Narendra Modi for resolving several critical issues that had been pending for several decades.

The CAA, he said, was aimed at resolving the issues that was left over from the Partition. "The new India cannot be built without healing the wounds of the past."

He said the CAA was about giving citizenship to persecuted minorities in Pakistan, Bangladesh and Afghanistan and not for taking away anyone's citizenship.

Later in the day, terming the Shaheen Bagh protests as a symbol of 'Islamic fanaticism', Surya tweeted, "Shaheen Bagh is a symbol of Islamic fanaticism in the garb of constitutional secularism. While the hollow opposition is indulging in lies and slander. Narendra Modi's government is moving forward with India's development story."

A protest opposing the CAA is going on for over 50 days at Delhi's Shaheen Bagh.

The CAA grants citizenship to Hindus, Sikhs, Jains, Parsis, Buddhists and Christians fleeing religious persecution from Pakistan, Afghanistan, and Bangladesh and who came to India on or before December 31, 2014.