Asianet NewsableAsianet Newsable

Lok Sabha Elections 2024: Virender Rawat vs Trivendra Singh Rawat in Haridwar; 59.01% voter turnout recorded

The BJP and Congress are in a direct contest in the Haridwar Lok Sabha seat in Uttarakhand which went to polls on April 19. Former Uttarakhand CM and BJP candidate Trivendra Singh Rawat is up against Congress’ Virender Rawat.

Lok Sabha Elections 2024 Uttarakhand Haridwar constituency profile, past winners, vote share and more gcw
First Published Apr 11, 2024, 2:41 PM IST

BJP’s former Chief Minister of Uttarakhand Trivendra Singh Rawat and state vice president of the Congress Virender Rawat will lock horns in the Haridwar Lok Sabha seat which went to polls in the first phase of the seven-phased general elections on April 19. This year, over 59.01% voter turnout was recorded.

The Hardwar seat comprises 14 Assembly segments including Dharampur, Doiwala, Rishikesh, Hardwar, B.h.e.l.ranipur, Jwalapur, Bhagwanpur, Jhabrera, Pirankaliyar, Roorkee, Khanpur, Manglore, Laksar, Hardwarrural. 

Who are the main contenders?

The BJP has replaced its two-time sitting MP and former Education Minister Ramesh Pokhriyal on the seat and given a chance to former CM Trivendra Singh Rawat. Congress, too, has replaced the candidate who fought in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections – Ambrish Kumar – and fielded a new one – Virender Rawat.

2019 election results

In the 2019 Lok Sabha Elections, Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank from BJP won the seat with a margin of 258,729 votes. Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank was polled 665,674 votes with a vote share of 52.00 % and defeated Ambrish Kumar from INC who got 406,945 votes (31.96 %).

2014 election results

In the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections, Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank from BJP won the seat and was polled 592,320 votes with a vote share of 50.38%. INC candidate Renuka Rawat got 414,498 votes (35.25 %) and was the runner-up.Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank defeated Renuka Rawat by a margin of 177,822 votes.

Latest Videos
Follow Us:
Download App:
  • android
  • ios