Bengaluru: The Congress think tank has decided to release the second list of by-election candidates only after the verdict on disqualified MLAs is out.

The Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee (KPCC) president Dinesh Gundu Rao on Sunday expressed his confidence about the party’s victory in all the 15 constituencies where bypolls will be taking place on December 5.

The Congress had released its first list of eight candidates on October 31. The decision on the second list of candidates was taken during a party meeting chaired by Siddaramaiah and Dinesh Gundu Rao. Former ministers MB Patil, DK Shivakumar, Ramalinga Reddy, Rajyasabha MP BK Hariprasad were a part of the meeting.   

“We have had a detailed discussion on the selection of candidates for the rest of the places. There will be another meeting with the senior leaders on Monday, where a final decision will be taken,” said Dinesh.

He added, “We will announce the names of the second list of candidates on November 13, after the Supreme Court’s verdict on disqualified Karnataka MLAs (which is likely to come on November 13). By the evening of that day, we will announce the names of the rest of the candidates.”

The unit discussed in detail about fielding candidates in Yeshwanthpur, Shivajinagar, Athani, Gokak, Kagawad and KR Pet constituencies.

Dinesh Gundu Rao added that the scope for winning in all the 15 constituencies is high because there is unity in the party.

In its first list released on October 31, the party announced that Bhimanna Naik would contest from Yellapur, B H Bannikod (Hirekerur) K B Koliwad (Ranebennur) M Anjanappa (Chikkaballapura), M Narayanaswamy (K R Puram), M Shivaraj (Mahalakshmi Layout) Padmavathi Suresh (Hosakote) and H P Manjunath would seek election from Hunsur.

Mahalakshmi Layout and Hunsur were represented by JD(S) members, the party which was Congress ally in the previous coalition government.