Asianet NewsableAsianet Newsable

Karnataka bans all travel from 5 states including Maharashtra

Karnataka suspended arrivals of flights, trains and vehicles from Maharashtra, Gujarat, Tamil Nadu, MP and Rajasthan into the state to contain the spread of Covid-19.


Karnataka bans all travel from 5 states including Maharashtra
Bengaluru, First Published May 28, 2020, 6:59 PM IST

Bengaluru: BS Yediyurappa-led Karnataka government has decided to ban the entry of flights from five states for 15 days. The states which are banned from entering Karnataka are Maharashtra, Gujarat, Tamil Nadu, Madhya Pradesh and Rajasthan.

Travel by rail or road into Karnataka from Maharashtra, Tamil Nadu and Gujarat has also been suspended to curb the spread of Covid-19.

Also read: Karnataka will allow temples to open from June 1

75 new cases of COVID-19 have been confirmed in Karnataka, taking the total number of infections in the state to 2,493, the health department said on Thursday.

With 47 deaths and 809 discharges, there are 1,635 active corona cases in the state, the department said in its mid-day bulletin.

28 patients have been discharged so far today (Thursday).

A total of 46 out of 75 cases are returnees from neighbouring Maharashtra, six from Tamil Nadu, two from Telangana, one each from Kerala, Delhi. One person has international travel history (UAE).

Remaining cases include, seven- who are contacts of patients already tested positive, one with a history of SARI while 10 patients' contact history is still under tracing.

Among the districts where the new cases were reported, Udupi accounting for 27, followed by Hassan 13, seven each from Bengaluru urban and Yadgir, six each from Chitradurga and Dakshina Kannada, three each from Kalaburagi and Chikkamagaluru, two from Vijayapura, and one from Raichur.

Follow Us:
Download App:
  • android
  • ios