Asianet NewsableAsianet Newsable

Karnataka Assembly by-polls: Exit polls predict big win for ruling BJP

C Voter survey has predicted anywhere between 9 and 12 seats for the BJP in the Karnataka by-polls  

Karnataka Assembly by-polls: Exit polls predict big win for ruling BJP
Bengaluru, First Published Dec 5, 2019, 7:43 PM IST
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Whatsapp

Bengaluru: The CVoter survey (Exit Polls) as of 4 pm predicted a huge victory for the BJP, with anywhere between 9 and 12 seats. The Congress is predicted to win 3-6 seats and JD(S) 1 seat.  

As of 5 30 pm on Thursday evening, the voting percentage is as follows:

The by-polls were held after 17 MLAs from both Congress and JD(S) tendered their resignations which led to the collapse of HD Kumaraswamy led coalition government in July.

BJP needs to win at least eight seats to retain its majority in the 225-member assembly, which would still have two vacant ones in Maski and RR Nagar. The BJP currently has 105 MLAs (including an independent) while the Congress and the Janata Dal Secular have 66 and 34 respectively. There is also a Bahujan Samaj Party member, a nominated member and the Speaker.

The rebel MLAs who were disqualified and refrained from contesting polls, joined the BJP last month, after the Supreme Court allowed them to contest the by-polls on BJP ticket. Of the 15 constituencies going to polls, 12 were held by the Congress and three by the Janata Dal Secular.

The constituencies where bypolls were held are Athani, Kagwad, Gokak, Yellapur, Hirekerur, Ranebennur, Vijayanagar, Chikkaballapur, KR Puram, Yeshwanthpur, Mahalakshmi Layout, Shivajinagar, Hoskote, KR Pet and Hunsur. The JD(S) and the Congress contested the polls separately, their alliance lying in tatters after its collapse on the floor of the house. While the BJP and the Congress fielded candidates in all 15 seats, the JD(S) contested from only from 12.

Follow Us:
Download App:
  • android
  • ios