Congress troubleshooter DK Shivakumar has finally been appointed as the president of Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee (KPCC).

The decision comes after Jyotiraditya Scindia's resignation from the Congress accusing the party of having no commitment towards the welfare of the poor and having no inclination to address the irregularities in Madhya Pradesh governance.

It is said that DK Shivakumar has been aspiring for this post for quite a long time, but the party was dilly-dallying. Now, when the Central leaders called Shivakumar for help to bring back Madhya Pradesh MLAs camping at Bengaluru resort, DKS seems to have bargained before unleashing his troubleshooting skills.

In a letterhead signed by Congress general secretary today, DK Shivakumar has been officially made the PCC president. Eashwar Khandre, Satish Jarkiholi and Salem Ahammed are the working presidents.