Asianet NewsableAsianet Newsable

CAA protests: Curfew to be relaxed in Karnataka’s Mangaluru today

Karnataka chief minister BS Yediyurappa said curfew in Mangaluru will be relaxed any time between 3 to 6 pm today whereas IPC section 144 will be implemented from December 23.

CAA protests: Curfew to be relaxed in Karnataka's Mangaluru today
Mangalore, First Published Dec 21, 2019, 4:11 PM IST
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Whatsapp

Mangaluru: Amid raging protests against the contentious Citizenship (Amendment) Act in the state, Karnataka chief minister BS Yediyurappa on Saturday stated that the curfew in Mangaluru will be relaxed during daytime today, while Section 144 will be implemented in Mangaluru from December 23.

"The curfew will be relaxed from 3 pm to 6 pm in Mangaluru today, while the night curfew will continue. The curfew will also be relaxed during day-time tomorrow, and section 144 will be imposed from December 23," said Yediyurappa. Earlier this week, two people were killed in the alleged police firing after protests against the new citizenship law turned violent in Mangaluru.

Karnataka government had suspended mobile Internet services in Dakshina Kannada district on Thursday night for the next 48 hours after two persons were killed in police firing during violent protests in Mangaluru against the controversial citizenship law.

The decision to suspend the Internet from 10 pm on Thursday was taken in order to prevent misuse of social media platforms to disturb peace and tranquillity, and for maintaining the law-and-order situation, according to a notification.

The notice was issued to Siddaramaiah by the city police which stated disruption of "law and order situation" as a reason for barring him.

Earlier today, Siddaramaiah took to Twitter and said, "Police have issued a notice to me that read I am prohibited from entering Mangaluru. We are living in an undeclared emergency situation."

"The chief minister should insist Prime Minister Narendra Modi to at least declare an emergency officially and run 'Tuglaq Darbar' as they wish," he added.

The CAA grants citizenship to Hindus, Sikhs, Jains, Parsis, Buddhists and Christians fleeing religious persecution from Pakistan, Afghanistan and Bangladesh, who came to India on or before December 31, 2014.  

With ANI Inputs

Follow Us:
Download App:
  • android
  • ios