Another annual General Body meeting of the stars of Malayalam cinema industry is on. The new office bearers took charge today. 

The people, especially film fraternity of  Kerala were waiting for the outcome of this meeting. But questions like whether Prithviraj and Remya Nambeeshan will be punished, will Dileep return to AMMA, will Mammootty resign are yet to be answered. 

 Mohanlal has become the new President who succeeded Innocent who was adorning the post for past seventeen years. This year's meeting made changed in Amma. In the meeting, the matter about Dileep's return was not discussed.

It is said that Innocent himself requested Mohanlal to take up the position as he was suffering from health issues.

New AMMA designators of AMMA are: President - Mohanlal, Secretary - Siddique, Vice Secretary - Mukesh, Ganesh Kumar, General Secretary Edavela Babu, Treasurer - Jagadeesh, Executive Members are Indrans, Babu Raj, Asif Ali, Honey Rose, Aju Varghese, Jayasuriya, Rachana Narayanan Kutty, Shweta Menon, Muthumani, Sudhir Karamana, Tini Tom, Unni Shivpal. The AMMA consists of 460 members. This appointment will be in effect from 2018 to 2021.

Former members AMMA in 2015 were:  President- Innocent , Vice President - Mammootty, General Secretary - Edavela Babu, Secretary - Dilip, Executive members: Prithviraj, Nivin Pauly, Asif Ali, Remya Nambeshan, Mukesh, Devon, Manian Pillai Raju, Nedumuni Venu, Kalabhavan Shajon, Cuckoo Parameswaran.

Just before the elections dates were announced, Mammootty resigned from Amma's General Secretary position, which he served for three years. ED Babu is the new general secretary till 2021