Surat: Suryakumar Yadav blasted a 53-ball 94 not out to pilot Mumbai to a seven-wicket victory over Karnataka in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy T20 tournament in Surat on Monday (November 25).

Yadav hit 11 fours and fours sixes in his match-winning knock as Mumbai successfully chased down 172 in 19 overs for the loss of three wickets in their Super League Group B match at CB Patel International Cricket Stadium.

Also read: KL Rahul smashes 48-ball 84*

Mumbai were 90/3 in 10.5 overs when Yadav was joined by all-rounder Shivam Dube. The duo made sure that the team crossed the finish line without further wickets. Dube was 22 not out off 18 balls with two sixes.

Earlier, Karnataka lost KL Rahul for a two-ball duck in the opening over. Captain Manish Pandey too followed for four runs as the defending champions were reduced to 6/2 in 1.4 overs.

Karun Nair (8) was the next to go as the scoreboard read 19/3 in 4.1 overs. It was left to Devdutt Padikkal (57) and Rohan Kadam (71) to resurrect the innings.

Thanks to the pair's fifties, Karnataka posted 171/6 in 20 overs. Kadam's 71 off 47 contained seven fours and three sixes while Padikkal hit four fours and four sixes in his 34-ball 57.

For Mumbai, Shardul Thakur and Dube took two wickets apiece.

Despite the loss, Karnataka still remain on top of the table with 12 points from four games. Mumbai are at second with eight points from three matches. Punjab, Tamil Nadu and Jharkhand are the other teams in Group B of the Super League.

The top two teams from each group qualify for the semi-finals on November 29. The final is on December 1.

Brief Scores

Karnataka: 171/6 in 20 overs (Rohan Kadam 71, Devdutt Padikkal 57, Shardul Thakur 2/29, Shivam Dube 2/39) lost to Mumbai: 174/3 in 19 overs (Suryakumar Yadav 94 not out, Prithvi Shaw 30, Shivam Dube 22 not out, Ronit More 1/41, Pravin Dubey 1/32, Shreyas Gopal 1/19)