Asianet News English

Ranji Trophy semi-final: KL Rahul included in Karnataka squad to face Bengal

India's limited-overs batsman KL Rahul will join Karnataka side for the Ranji Trophy semi-final game from February 29 in Kolkata

Ranji Trophy semi-final KL Rahul included Karnataka squad face Bengal
Bengaluru, First Published Feb 24, 2020, 5:10 PM IST
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Whatsapp

Bengaluru: Opening batsman KL Rahul has returned to Karnataka state squad for the Ranji Trophy semi-final against Bengal.

On Monday (February 24), Karnataka defeated Jammu and Kashmir by 167 runs to enter the last-four stage of Ranji Trophy.

Also read: RCB training camp for IPL 2020 to start next month

The semi-final will be played in Kolkata from February 29 and Karnataka have been strengthened by the inclusion of Rahul, who has returned from New Zealand tour.

The right-hander was part of ODI and T20I India squads. He is not in the Test team.

Also read: Virat Kohli's message to people after Test loss in New Zealand

Karnataka will be captained by Karun Nair. In the previous Ranji Trophy season, Karnataka had lost to Saurashtra in the semi-final at Bengaluru's M Chinnaswamy Stadium. Test batsman Cheteshwar Pujara had hit an unbeaten 131 in that game to guide Saurashtra to five-wicket victory.

Karnataka squad

Karun Nair (captain), R Samarth, Devdutt Padikkal, Manish Pandey, KL Rahul, Sharath Srinivas (wicketkeeper), Shreyas Gopal, K Gowtham, Abhimanyu Mithun, KV Siddharth, Prasidh Krishna, J Suchith, Prateek Jain, Ronit More, Sharath BR (wicketkeeper).

Coach: Yere Goud. Bowling Coach: S Arvind. Fielding Coach: Shabarish P Mohan

Follow Us:
Download App:
  • android
  • ios