Asianet NewsableAsianet Newsable

IND vs IRE 2022, 2nd T20I: India opts to bat; Sanju Samson replaces Ruturaj Gaikwad

India and Ireland are locking horns in the final T20I on Tuesday in Dublin. The visitors have won the toss and will be batting first, while they have made three changes to their XI.

India vs Ireland, IND vs IRE 2022, 2nd T20I Dublin: India opts to bat; Sanju Smason replaces Ruturaj Gaikwad-ayh
Dublin, First Published Jun 28, 2022, 8:47 PM IST

India and Ireland square off for the last time in the former's short tour of the latter, as the two meet for the second and final Twenty20 International (T20I). Being played at the Malahide Cricket Club (The Village) in Dublin on Tuesday, Indian skipper Hardik Pandya has won the toss and opted to bat in seemingly clean-looking weather, with no rains so far. The opening game at the same venue on Sunday was reduced to 12 overs per side due to incessant rains, while the visitors won the match comfortably by seven wickets. Both teams will be determined to win it here for their own cause.

During the toss, Pandya said, "We want to bat first. The wicket looks alright, and the weather looks awesome and sunny. When we bowled first [in 1st T20I], we expected the wicket to do much more than it did. But, credit the boys for keeping them down to that total by realizing which balls to bowl. We have three changes: Ruturaj [Gaikwad] misses out because of a niggle, and Sanju [Samson] comes in. Harshal [Patel] comes in place of Avesh [Khan], and [Ravi Bishnoi] Bishnoi comes in for [Yuzvendra] Chahal."

ALSO READ: IND vs IRE 2022, 2nd T20I: Hottest Fantasy XI picks, probables, prediction and more

In contrast, Irish captain Andrew Balbirnie declared, "We were going to have a bowl. It is always lovely in T20 to chase, but we'll have to do well with the ball to keep these guys to a low total. Hopefully, we'll get a bit closer if we put in a good performance. It was Craig Young's 50th T20I, and we were happy to hand him a unique cap. We're playing the same team."

Playing XI
Sanju Samson, Ishan Kishan (wk), Deepak Hooda, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya (c), Dinesh Karthik, Axar Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Ravi Bishnoi and Umran Malik.
IRE: Paul Stirling, Andrew Balbirnie (c), Gareth Delany, Harry Tector, Lorcan Tucker (wk), George Dockrell, Mark Adair, Andy McBrine, Craig Young, Joshua Little and Conor Olphert.

Follow Us:
Download App:
  • android
  • ios