Asianet News English

Karnataka CET likely to be postponed in view of Lok Sabha election

The CET exams that have been scheduled for April 23, 24 clash with phase two of Lok Sabha polls in Karnataka. The Karnataka Examination Authority is considering postponing the exams, dates unannounced yet.

Karnataka CET likely postponed view of Lok Sabha election
Bengaluru, First Published Mar 11, 2019, 12:41 PM IST
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Whatsapp

Bengaluru: The Karnataka Examinations Authority (KEA) is most likely to postpone the Common Entrance Test (CET) 2019, which will begin on April 23. The exam clashes with phase two of the Lok Sabha elections in the state. 

KEA executive director Girish R said discussions and deliberations will be held with the PU board in the next few days to come to a conclusion.

At the time of elections, most teachers would be sent on election duty leaving a dearth of invigilators. 

Girish pointed out, "Another issue would be the availability of examination rooms during elections."

He also went on to say that the examination could be postponed by two or three days. 

CET allows students to enter into engineering, pharmacy and other professional courses in the state. 

The KEA had scheduled the biology and mathematics papers of the CET for April 23, while physics and chemistry are scheduled for April 24. 

The Joint Entrance Examination (JEE), organised by the National Testing Agency is also slated for April 7 and April 20.

Karnataka’s Chief Election Commissioner Sanjiv Kumar announced the poll dates and said that clash of dates might not have come to the notice of the Election Commission of India (ECI). "The KEA can take a call on when to postpone the exams," said Sanjiv Kumar.

On Sunday, the ECI announced that Karnataka will go to polls in two phases. The first will be on April 18 and the second phase on April 23. 

Kolar, Chikkaballapur, Bengaluru South, Bengaluru North, Bengaluru Central, Bengaluru Rural, Chamarajanagar, Mysuru, Mandya, Tumakuru, Chitradurga, Dakshin Kannada, Hassan, Udupi and Chikkamagaluru will go to polls on April 18.

Chikkodi, Belgam, Bagalkot, Bijapur, Gulbarga, Raichur, Bidar, Koppal, Bellary, Haveri, Dharwad, Uttara Kannada, Shivamogga, will go to polls on April 23.

CEC Sanjiv Kumar said that keeping in mind the availability of forces, it was decided that Karnataka will go in for a two-phased election.

Follow Us:
Download App:
  • android
  • ios