Asianet NewsableAsianet Newsable

Suresh Raina to miss 1st ODI vs Kiwis due to viral fever

  • Raina earlier was rested for India's series tour of Zimbabwe.
  • India and New Zealand are scheduled to play five ODIs, starting Sunday.
  • The ODI is being hosted by Dharamsala.
  • India recently thrashed the visitors 3-0 in the Test series.
Suresh Raina to miss 1st ODI vs Kiwis due to viral fever

After humiliating the BlackCaps 3-0 in the three-Test series, the two sides are set to lock horns in limited-overs five-ODI series, starting Sunday at Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association (HPCA) stadium at Dharamsala.


Read more: Raina returns as IND announce 15-man squad for ODI series vs NZ


"The BCCI medical team has confirmed that Suresh Raina, who is recovering from a bout of viral fever, is ruled out of the first ODI of the Paytm ODI Trophy against New Zealand," the Indian cricket board said in a statement on Thursday. 


However, the BCCI has decided against naming a replacement for Raina. 


The opening match at Dharamsala will be followed by the second match at the Ferozshah Kotla here on October 20 while the third and fourth matches will be played at Mohali (October 23) and Ranchi (October 26) respectively.


The final ODI of the series will be hosted at Vizag on October 29.

Follow Us:
Download App:
  • android
  • ios