Asianet NewsableAsianet Newsable

Bengaluru commerates 26/11 victims, terrorism condemned

  • On November 26, 2008, 10 Pakistani terrorists killed 166 in Mumbai.
  • Veterans and citizens gathered to remember and commemorate victims.


Bengaluru commerates 2611 victims terrorism condemned
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Whatsapp

On November 26, 2008, 10 Pakistani terrorists arrived by sea route and opened fire indiscriminately at people killing 166, including 18 security personnel, and injuring several others, besides damaging property worth crores.

The then ATS chief Hemant Karkare, Army Major Sandeep Unnikrishnan, Mumbai's Additional Police Commissioner Ashok Kamte and Senior Police Inspector Vijay Salaskar were among those killed in the attack.

The attack had begun on 26 November and lasted until 29 November. Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus, the Oberoi Trident, the Taj Mahal Palace & Tower, Leopold Cafe, Cama Hospital, the Nariman House Jewish community centre were some of the places targeted by the terrorists.

Ajmal Kasab was the only terrorist who was captured alive. He was hanged four years later on November 21, 2012.

In Bengaluru, a commemoration was held for the many victims and brave hearts who lost their lives in the mindless violence in the city of Mumbai in 2008. The attendees also shared their thoughts with the many others who perished in the series of terrorist attacks in India since then.

NMM in Bengaluru witnessed the Veterans and citizens who gathered to remember and commemorate the victims of Pakistan terrorism from 26/11.

They also discussed and shared their take on the 'The Declaration of Countries as Sponsor of Terrorism Bill, 2016' that was introduced in the Rajya Sabha on 18 November 2016 by MP Rajeev Chandrasekhar.

Justice Santhosh Hedge along with Commander GJ Singh, Lt Gen Kamath, Col Rajan and Commander Chandrasekhar addressed the gathering and referred to Private Member Bill and urged the Government of India to pass the bill unopposed. 

They firmly sent out a message to the honourable PM, Members of Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha to support and pass the Bill unopposed.

About 350 people, including Justice Santhosh Hedge and senior veterans, signed in support of the bill.

Follow Us:
Download App:
  • android
  • ios