Asianet NewsableAsianet Newsable

Haridwar, Election Result 2022 LIVE: Madan Kaushik sweeps it for BJP

BJP's state president Madan Kaushik has won from the Haridwar seat with a huge margin.

Uttarakhand elections 2022 live result updates Haridwar constituency drb
Dehradun, First Published Mar 10, 2022, 6:02 AM IST

Haridwar, one of the 70 assembly constituencies in Uttarakhand, witnessed a straight fight between sitting BJP MLA and state party chief Madan Kaushik and his Congress rival Satpal Brahmachari.

In 2017, Kaushik emerged victorious defeating his Congress rival Brahmswroop Brahmchari by a margin of 35,927 votes. While Kaushik polled 61,742 votes, the INC candidate polled 25,815 votes. In 2017, the BJP leader had managed to corner 66.45 per cent of the votes while the Congress candidate had managed just 27.78 per cent votes. Cut to 2022 state assembly elections, Kaushik registered a sweeping win once again, beating his opponent with a whopping margin of 15,237 votes. 

This time, however, the political fight in this prestigious constituency was multi-cornered with parties like the Aam Aadmi Party and the Samajwadi Party fielding their candidates in Haridwar. There were a total of nine candidates in the fray.

District Election Officer Vinay Shankar Pandey informed on the eve of counting that a complete ban on any kind of procession by the winning candidates after the counting of votes was imposed in the constituency.

The BJP had fought the election in Haridwar on the promise of making Haridwar an International Yoga destination, expanding Char Dham through linking other pilgrim sites and establishing Vedic schools. Congress, on the other hand, was raising issues like price rise and unemployment. The local seers, who are believed to have sway over the local population, highlighted the drug menace in the temple town and sought the issue to be addressed.

Also Read: Uttarakhand Election 2022 Result LIVE: CM Pushkar Singh Dhami trails while his party maintains the lead

Also Read: Lansdowne, Election Result 2022 LIVE: Can Anukriti Gusian outthrow BJP’s sitting MLA Daleep Singh Rawat?

Also Read: Khatima, Election Result 2022 LIVE: Will it be a hat-trick for CM Pushkar Singh Dhami?

Follow Us:
Download App:
  • android
  • ios