Asianet NewsableAsianet Newsable

Goa Election 2022 Result: MGP's Jit Vinayak Arolkar clinches Mandrem

Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party's (MGP) Jit Vinayak Arolkar has emerged victorious in the Mandrem assembly constituency.

Mandrem Goa Election 2022 Result LIVE update candidates winner runner up
Mandrem, First Published Mar 10, 2022, 6:00 AM IST

Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party's (MGP) Jit Vinayak Arolkar has emerged victorious in the Mandrem assembly constituency as he defeated BJP leader Dayanand Sopte by a margin of over 700 votes, according to the Election Commission (EC).

Click here for latest updates on Goa Election 2022 Result LIVE

All eyes were on former Goa chief minister Laxmikant Parsekar, who decided to his hat into the ring as an independent candidate for this election. He bagged a total of 5623 votes, making him the second runners-up.

No. of candidates that contested: 9

Babli Bhaskar Naik - Shiv Sena
D Costa Maria - Sambhaji Brigade Party
Dayanand Raghunath Sopte - BJP
Deepak Bhalchandra Kalangutkar - Goa Forward Party
Jit Vinayak Arolkar - MGP
Laxmikant Parsekar - Independent
Prasad K. Shahapurkar - AAP
Satish Sitaram Shetgaonkar - Independent
Sunayana Rajanikant Gawde - Revolutionary Goans Party

Election issues in 2022:

Illegal commercial shacks and establishments along the beach and bad roads are some of the issues Mandrem residents face. Congress and its alliance partner GFP, during the election campaign, raised the issue of Covid mismanagement, Mahadayi water diversion to Karnataka, job scam and an alleged sex scandal involving a BJP leader. In comparison, BJP was banking on central government schemes, state-centre equations, free treatment to Covid patients to attract voters.

Exit Polls prediction:

Exit polls had earlier indicated that the coastal state might be heading for another hung assembly, much like the cliffhanger of 2017. Data predicted both BJP and the Congress would end up with around 15-18 seats each in the 40-member house. The kingmaker is likely to be Mamata Banerjee's Trinamool Congress, which might win 2-4 seats.

The vote share in 2017:

In 2017, Congress candidate now in BJP's Dayanand Raghunath Sopte won 16,490 votes, and his vote share was 59.85%. BJP's Laxmikant Parsekar bagged 9,371 votes, and his vote share was 34.01%.

Goa Election 2022 voter turnout:

According to the Election Commission of India, 32,445 eligible electors are there in the Mandrem constituency, of which 16,106 are male, and 16,339 are female. In the voting held on February 14 this year, an estimated 87.5 per cent voter turnout was reported.

Follow Us:
Download App:
  • android
  • ios