Thiruvananthapuram: The Congress-led UDF alliance in Kerala has won three seats in the state in the by-polls. By-elections were held in Vattiyoorkavu, Konni, Aroor, Ernakulam and Manjeswaram constituencies in Kerala on Monday (October 21). As many as 9,59,509 voters, including 4,91,455 women and 4,66,047 men voted for their representatives from 35 candidates in the fray.

The by-polls to the five constituencies were necessitated after four MLAs (three Congress and one CPM) won the recent Lok Sabha election while an Indian Union Muslim League (a constituent of UDF) MLA from Manjeshwaram, died in October 2018.

Election verdict:

UDF candidate Shanimol Usman won the by-election from Aroor constituency with 68530 votes

In Ernakulam, Congress candidate TJ Vinod Kumar secured 37576 votes

In Manjeshwaram, Congress ally Muslim League candidate MC Kamarudheen garnered 65407 votes to win

CPI(M) candidate Adv KU Janeesh Kumar won in Konni after obtaining 54009 votes

In Vattiyoorkavu, CPM's young face VK Prasanth won with 54830