Ranchi: Following BJP's drubbing in the Jharkhand Assembly election, the party's state president Laxman Giluwa submitted his resignation on Wednesday.

"Due to the party performance falling below expectations in Vidhan Sabha elections 2019 the party's state president Laxman Giluwa has submitted his resignation to the national president taking responsibility for the defeat," read a letter issued by the state party's head Hemant Das.

The BJP only managed to win 25 seats in the 81-seat Assembly. On the other hand, Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM)-led alliance, which also comprises Congress and Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD), bagged 49 seats paving the way for their government formation in the state.

Also read: Jharkhand election results 2019: JMM-led alliance to form govt in 2-3 days

Earlier, Jharkhand's BJP co-in-charge Ram Vichar Netam had said that the party would hold discussions to assess the reason for defeat in the Assembly elections.

"There could be several reasons for the defeat. The party will hold meetings and assess the reasons for the same. Our government was dedicated towards the overall development of the state, but we did not get the expected results," Netam told reporters.

The BJP leader said that the party gave corruption-free and development-driven governance in the state.

"The BJP did not get a majority in the elections, so Raghubar Das Ji submitted his resignation. In the last elections, people had given us the opportunity to run the government. We did our part," he said.

When asked about former chief minister Raghubar Das' defeat on Jamshedpur (East) seat, Netam said, "Victory and loss are parts of democracy."

Das not only lost the power in the state but was also defeated in his constituency by BJP rebel Saryu Roy, who contested as an independent candidate.