Thiruvananthapuram: Chief Electoral Officer Teeka Ram Meena on Friday (October 18) said all measures have been taken for the by-elections to five Assembly constituencies scheduled to be held on October 21 in Kerala.

According to reports, the polling will be held from 7 am to 6 pm. Meanwhile, Kerala Armed Police, ITBP and IR battalions will be deployed to ensure free and fair polling in all the five Assembly constituencies.

Polling will be held in 896 polling stations across five constituencies. The highest number of candidates is in Ernakulam, where nine are in the fray. The complete election process will take place under the strict surveillance of web cameras.

This time the latest M 2 EVMs will be used for the polls. The authorities have kept 20 % additional machines as standby. There is an increase of 12,780 voters compared to Lok Sabha polls. The CEO said voters’ identity card will be mandatory for the identification and green protocol will be enforced strictly in all five constituencies.