The Bhartiya Janata Party on Sunday (December 27) appointed former Kolkata mayor Sovan Chatterjee as the party’s observer of the Kolkata zone.

Sovan Chatterjee joined the BJP last year. He has been appointed as the observer of the Kolkata zone.

Also read: CBI seeks Rajiv Kumar in their custody; appeals to Supreme Court

Sovan Chatterjee’s friend Baisakhi Banerjee was appointed as a co-convenor of the party’s Kolkata zone along with former TMC students wing chief Shankudeb Panda and BJP leader Debjit Sarkar.

Ajit Das was appointed as the state chief of the OBC Morcha, MP Locket Chatterjee as the observer of the Kisan Morcha, Mafuja Khatun as the Minority Morcha observer, and Raju Banerjee as observer of the Yuva Morcha.

Bengal BJP chief Dilip Ghosh Ghosh appointed new presidents to the party’s five organisational districts.

Also read: Opposition spreading lies on farm laws: PM Modi

Sovan Chatterjee met Union Home Minister Amit Shah during his visit to Kolkata in November. At that time, there were indications that the former mayor would be vocal again in the arena of state politics. Coincidentally, the responsibility for the Calcutta zone was given to Shovon Chatterjee when he was in the TMC.

Bengal BJP sources indicated that Sovan Chatterjee returning to mainstream politics would help the party.