The Trinamool Congress on Friday (February 26) formed a 12-member election committee that will look into the selection of election candidates and plan all the campaigns and strategies of the party for the upcoming polls.

The committee will be headed by party supremo Mamata Banerjee. The panel will comprise senior party leaders, MPs, and MLAs.

Also read: Smriti Irani rides scooty during BJP’s roadshow in West Bengal

Subrata Bakshi, Abhishek Banerjee, Sudip Banerjee, Derek O Brien, Sougata Roy, and C M Jatua are members of the election panel.

Firhad Hakim, Subrata Mukherjee, Partha Chatterjee Chandrima Bhattacharya, and Aroop Biswas are also part of the committee.

Also read: Abhishek Banerjee holds ‘Mahayagna’ at TMC office near Mamata’s house

A party leader said, “The selection of the candidates will be an important thing this time. Poll strategist Prashant Kishor and his team I-PAC will play an important role in the selection of candidates and planning the campaigns for the party.”

The Election Commission of India announced that the election to the 294-member West Bengal assembly will be held in eight phases.