Amaravati: The YS Jagan Mohan Reddy-led government in Andhra Pradesh passed a resolution for decentralisation of the state capital today. The Cabinet, earlier in the morning, had approved the three-capitals proposal during its meeting at the state secretariat, chaired by CM Reddy.

The Bill was introduced in the Andhra Pradesh legislative Assembly to give shape to its plan of having three capitals for the state, with the executive capital in Visakhapatnam, legislative capital in Amaravati and judicial capital in Kurnool.

The AP Decentralisation and Inclusive Development of All Regions Bill 2020 also provides for dividing the state into various zones and establishing zonal planning and development boards.

Moving the Bill on the first day of the extended winter session of the Assembly, finance and legislative affairs minister Buggana Rajendranath said the government decided to enact a new legislation for decentralisation and inclusive development of all regions in the state for ensuring "balanced and inclusive growth" of Andhra Pradesh.

Meanwhile, protests have been erupting since morning as soon as the session started. Students' union leaders who were part of 'Chalo Assembly' march were detained by the police in Andhra Pradesh’s capital.

They raised slogans against the three capitals proposal during the protest. In the wake of 'Chalo Assembly (Let's march to assembly)' call against the state government by Amaravati Parirakahana Samiti and TDP, the police have detained several TDP leaders from across the state late night and put them under house arrest.

Section 144 of CrPc, which prohibits assembly of four or more people in an area, was imposed in some parts of Vijayawada and Guntur to facilitate smooth functioning of the state Assembly proceedings and movement of public representatives today.