Asianet News English

Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury to lose Congress leader status in Lok Sabha, new names float for the post

Congress party is all set to make a change in its leadership in Lok Sabha as it may replace Congress leader in Lok Sabha Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury and appoint a new leader. Names of leaders like Shashi Tharoor, Manish Tiwari, and Gaurav Gogoi are doing the rounds to occupy the top post.

Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury to lose Congress leader status in Lok Sabha, new names float for the post-ycb
New Delhi, First Published Jul 13, 2021, 10:42 AM IST
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Whatsapp

The dismal performance in West Bengal elections and lack of impact in Parliament will result in Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury losing his status as Congress leader in Lok Sabha during the upcoming monsoon session.

Chowdhury was also West Bengal Congress unit chief and in the recently concluded Assembly election, under his leadership the party could not win even a single MLA seat.

In a virtual meeting that would take place on July 14, interim president Sonia Gandhi would address Congress leaders. Following the meeting, a decision will be taken in this regard.

Those who are in the running for the post include Shashi Tharoor and Manish Tiwari. The names of Gaurav Gogoi, Ravneet Singh Bittu and Uttam Kumar Reddy are also being considered to replace Chowdhury as these leaders have time and again displayed their oratory skills.

The monsoon session will begin on July 19 and end on August 13 and it will be a 19-day session this time. The session will be held between 11 am to 6 pm in both Upper and Lower Houses, said Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla.  

323 MP's fully vaccinated:

The speaker also confirmed that out of 545 MPs, 323 have been completely vaccinated which means they have received both doses. The remaining 23 could not even get the first dose due to medical reasons and the rest have got the first dose.

Follow Us:
Download App:
  • android
  • ios