Bengaluru: In the 42nd match of the Indian Premier League (IPL 2019), Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) will host Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru tonight (April 24).

Days after winning against Chennai Super Kings (CSK), the RCB would look to bag yet another victory against Punjab to keep their playoffs hopes alive.

KXIP are down to fifth position in the points table after Delhi Capitals (DC) defeated them by five wickets. KXIP will again look to make some changes to their playing 11 as they have been chopping and changing their team according to conditions.

RCB might draw some inspiration from match-winning knocks of an unbeaten 59 by AB de Villiers and 67 by captain Virat Kohli, against Punjab when they met in the first leg in Mohali. However, their bowling remains a concern despite Dale Steyn's arrival to the team.

Tonight’s game will be the last of the season for RCB’s Moeen Ali as he will head home to be part of England’s preparatory camp for the World Cup.

“…it's also difficult to leave a team, especially when I'm in a bit of form and I want to keep going in the IPL, trying to improve my game. I feel like I'm a big part of the boys and I'll miss them. It's a shame but there's obviously the World Cup which is very important as well,” left-handed batsman Ali said on the eve of the match on Tuesday.

Probable playing XIs

RCB: Virat Kohli (captain), Parthiv Patel (wicketkeeper), AB de Villiers, Moeen Ali, Marcus Stoinis, Akshdeep Nath, Pawan Negi, Dale Steyn, Umesh Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Navdeep Saini.

KXIP: R Ashwin (captain), KL Rahul, Chris Gayle, Mayank Agarwal, Mandeep Singh, David Miller, Nicholas Pooran (wicketkeeper), Murugan Ashwin, Arshdeep Singh, Mohammed Shami, Mujeeb Ur Rehman.


RCB: Virat Kohli (captain), Parthiv Patel, AB de Villiers, Dale Steyn, Tim Southee, Umesh Yadav, Moeen Ali, Yuzvendra Chahal, Colin de Grandhomme, Pawan Negi, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Akshdeep Nath, Milind Kumar, Marcus Stoinis, Navdeep Saini, Shimron Hetmyer, Heinrich Klaasen, Himmat Singh, Mohammed Siraj, Washington Sundar, Shivam Dube, Kulwant Khejroliya, Devdutt Padikkal, Prayas Barman.

KXIP: Ravichandran Ashwin (captain), Chris Gayle, Moises Henriques, Mayank Agarwal, Mandeep Singh, David Miller, Mohammed Shami, Karun Nair, KL Rahul, Murugan Ashwin, Ankit Rajpoot, Nicholas Pooran (wicketkeeper), Sarfaraz Khan, Hardus Viljoen, Andrew Tye, Sam Curran, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Agnivesh Ayachi, Darshan Nalkande, Varun Chakravarthy, Arshdeep Singh, Simran Singh, Harpreet Brar.