Asianet Newsable

Commonwealth Games 2022: Check out when the women's T20s would be played

The 2022 Commonwealth GGamesis all set to be held in Birmingham between July 28 and August 8. Meanwhile, it would be the first time that women's Twenty20 cricket would be played at the event, while the dates for the same have been confirmed.

Commonwealth Games 2022: Check out when the women's T20s would be played-ayh
London, First Published Jun 15, 2021, 4:28 PM IST
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Whatsapp

In what is already a historic achievement, cricket would feature for only the second time in the Commonwealth Games. The 2022 event, set to be held in Birmingham, would witness the women battle it out in the Twenty20 format.

It would be a ten-team event, while the organisers have stated that the matches would be played between July 29 and August 7. All the games would be played at Edgbaston, with the group stage running until August 4, followed by the semis on August 6, and the bronze playoff, along with the final, would be played on August 7.

"With 11 days of swimming and diving, eight days of cricket, eight days of gymnastics and seven days of athletics, including the marathon, the summer of 2022 is set for a spectacular home Games. The Birmingham 2022 competition schedule features more medal events for women than men for the first time in Commonwealth Games history, as well as a fully integrated para-sport programme," the organisers indictaed on their website.

ALSO READ: ICC World Test Championship to undergo change in points system from 2021-23 season?

It would be the first time that women's cricket would be played at the event. Overall, the sport would feature in the competition only the second time, having already featured in the 1998 edition in Kuala Lumpur, with the men battling it out in the One-Day International format.

As for 2022, Australia, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, England are confirmed to have qualified, while an individual nation from the Caribbean would feature as the eighth team that would be decided via a qualifier by January 31. Barring England, all the other seven sides qualified based on the ICC T20I Rankings.

NOTE: Asianet News humbly requests everyone to wear masks, sanitise, maintain social distancing and get vaccinated as soon as eligible. Together we can and will break the chain #ANCares #IndiaFightsCorona

Follow Us:
Download App:
  • android
  • ios