Asianet NewsableAsianet Newsable

Border-Gavaskar Trophy 2020-21, 3rd Test: Mohammed Siraj breaks down during national anthem

India is up against Australia in a four-Test series, as it defends the Border-Gavaskar Trophy. The series is currently locked 1-1, as the side lock horns in the third Test, in Sydney. Pacer Mohammed Siraj made his debut in the last Test, where he claimed five wickets.

Border-Gavaskar Trophy 2020-21, 3rd Test: Mohammed Siraj breaks down during national anthem-ayh
Sydney NSW, First Published Jan 7, 2021, 10:34 AM IST
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Whatsapp

As the four-Test series is locked 1-1, India takes on Australia in the third Test at the Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) on Thursday. The Test saw Indian pacer Mohammed Siraj retain his spot in the side.

Meanwhile, prior to the game, as the teams were undergoing the respective national anthems, Siraj was seen in tears. As the anthem got over, Siraj wiped the tears from his eyes and face, while fellow pacer Jasprit Bumrah clapped and looked on.

Watch the video of the same here:

It was during the last Test in Melbourne when Siraj made his debut for the side, as he came in for injured seamer, Mohammed Shami. He claimed five wickets at an average of 15.40, as India won the match by eight wickets, to draw level in the series.

As far as the situation in the third Test is concerned, Australia has won the toss and is batting first. The host is 47/1 in the post-lunch session, as the match was halted for almost two hours due to rain. Opener David Warner is the only man to be dismissed so far, for mere five, by Siraj himself, while Will Pucovski (24*) and Marnus Labuschagne (18*) are unbeaten so far.
Brief scores: Australia 47/1 (Pucovski 24*, Siraj 1/24) vs India.

Playing XI
David Warner, Will Pucovski, Marnus Labuschagne, Steven Smith, Matthew Wade, Cameron Green, Tim Paine (c & wk), Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon and Josh Hazlewood.
India: Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (c), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj and Navdeep Saini.

Follow Us:
Download App:
  • android
  • ios