Asianet NewsableAsianet Newsable

This is the reason why Sehwag will be a better coach of KXIP than Bangar

  • Sanjay bangar has stepped down as the coach of KXIP.
  • Sehwag was the mentor of KXIP during IPL 2016.
Reason why Sehwag will be a better coach of KXIP than Bangar
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Whatsapp

Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) is one such side in the Indian Premier League (IPL) which haven’t had a good time in the last couple of years despite having plethora of exciting talents. Recently, Sanjay Bangar, who was the head coach of KXIP for the past two years, submitted his resignation. As a result, the role of the coach is up for grabs and no other man can take up this role better than the Twitter king of India currently – Virender Sehwag.


There are a number of reasons why the swashbuckling batsman is the best man for this job and KXIP management and players would agree to them.


Sehwag has played for KXIP in 2014 and 2015. Later, he was roped in as the mentor of the side in 2016.


If Sehwag would have played for few more years, no one would have remotely come close to his batting style in the shortest format of the game. But unfortunately he has retired from the game. But KXIP can use his experience and approach, which can change the outlook of the side, which has been reeling at the bottom of the points table since the past two years.


Having Sehwag as the coach of the side can also boost the morale of the side. However, he was present with the side as the mentor in 2016 but one never knows how big an impact the ‘Nawab of Najafgarh’ can make.


Neither Preity Zinta (co-owner of KXIP) nor Sehwag has commented on this development.


KXIP has the highest purse for the next IPL auction. Meanwhile take a look at the KXIP squad for the next year:


Players retained for IPL 2017: David Miller, Manan Vohra, Axar Patel, Glenn Maxwell, Gurkeerat Singh, Anureet Singh, Sandeep Sharma, Shardul Thakur, Shaun Marsh, Wriddhiman Saha, M Vijay, Nikhil Naik, Mohit Sharma, Marcus Stoinis, KC Cariappa, Armaan Jaffer, Pardeep Sahu, Swapnil Singh, Hashim Amla.


Players released ahead of IPL 2017: Mitchell Johnson, Rishi Dhawan, Kyle Abbott, Farhaan Behardien.

Follow Us:
Download App:
  • android
  • ios