The other five venues for the mega event are Kolkata, Kochi, Mumbai, Goa, New Delhi and Guwahati. 


The competitions department head of FIFA, Marion Mayer-Vorfelder, after the inspection in Kolkata, announced that the tournament would be held from October 6 to October 28, 2017. 


Meanwhile, the draw for the event will be held on July 7 next year.


"Massive work has been done since the last inspection. That gives an excellent feeling. This stadium in Kolkata can be one of the best in the country," Mayer-Vorfelder told Times of India.


On the other hand, the tournament director, Javier Ceppi said, "We are very happy with the work done in spite of few constraints. Regarding whether Kolkata can host the final, it will be decided only after a review of the venues following completion of all the works that need to be done."


West Bengal's sports minister, Aroop Biswas, who interacted with the media after the inspection on Tuesday has assured that all work at the Salt Lake Stadium will get over by January 31, 2017.